Wintery Knight is Pro-Censorship

On April 16, I commented on a link to an article written on a blog by “Wintery Knight” ( http://www.walkingchristian.com/2012/04/16/wintery-knight-on-cohabitation-and-preparing-for-marriage/). I decided to explore WK’s blog a bit, and found this article: http://winteryknight.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/human-rights-campaign-leaks-list-of-pro-marriage-donors-and-their-addresses/

His list of companies that support same-sex marriage seemed a bit lacking, so I decided to give him some more companies which do so. My first comment on this article, on the 17th, read as follows:

In addition to Microsoft, Google, Dell, and IBM, these companies also support gay marriage: Apple, Amazon, 3M, AT&T, Automatic Data Processing, Best Buy, Cisco, eBay, HP, Office Depot, Oracle, Sprint Nextel, Symantec, Tech Data, Xerox, Yahoo, Acer, Adope, AMD, Comcast, Cox Communications, EarthLink, Intel, Lexmark, McAfee, Motorola, Seagate, Sony, Texas Instruments, Time Warner, Verizon, and T-Mobile.

What you’ll probably notice is that these are all tech companies. Now, what you do with this information is up to you, but I’d just note that it would be pretty difficult to use the internet at all without using the products any of these companies produce.

For a bonus, here’s some automotive companies that support gay marriage: Ford, Toyota, Chrysler, Volkswagen, Subaru, General Motors, Nissan.

What kind of car do *you* drive?

His response to this was very short. All he said was, “My family has owned four cars, none of which are made by the above companies. I checked.” (note: as I did not save this comment, only my own, this is a paraphrase). So I decided to post a response to this lackluster comment. I wrote:

What kind of car is it?

Also, what about all the tech companies? There’s almost certainly a cisco router somewhere on the traceroute between you and your ISP, you know. Plus the inclusion of google, yahoo, and microsoft limits your choice of operating system, email, and search engine quite a bit. Are you running linux? Wait, you can’t – Richard Stallman, founder of the free software foundation, supports gay marriage. Did I mention that Alan Turing, the father of modern computing, was a homosexual?

To my surprise, this comment was removed from the moderation queue without being posted. My previous comment, and his response to it, was also deleted. Without explanation.

Now, of course he has a right to do with his site whatever he wants. But I find this censorship quite odd. My first comment was originally approved, and I don’t see why he would change his mind. My comments are not hostile or insulting. I’m just challenging him on an issue. I looked around his site, and I can find no explicit commenting policy. I have no idea if I’ve broken one of his site rules, or what. So I decided to ask before posting this. I submitted one more comment, which read:

Wintery Knight,

If you’re going to delete my posts, at least let me know why you’ve done so…

This one has been removed as well. Wintery Knight, if you happen to read this, I just want an explanation.

Tags: ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Censorship, Redux « Dubito Deus - June 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

